Griffith grad named Australasian Junior Doctor of the Year

Supporting young doctors as an educator and trainer has been the passion for Dr Kat Curtis, who has been named Australasian Junior Doctor of the Year at the Postgraduate Medical Education Council Awards.

A Griffith Medicine graduate from 2011, Kat originally worked at the Mater Hospital in Brisbane, before joining Bundaberg Hospital this year as a principal house officer in general surgery.

“This is a great honour for me and a great encouragement but I never really expected it,” said Kat, 30.

“Supporting other young doctors as an educator and trainer of surgical treatment is something that I am really passionate about and it is great to be recognised for it.”

A registrar in Bundaberg

Dr Curtis accepted a registrar position at Bundaberg Hospital in August.

“The position provided me with an opportunity to enjoy both clinical and surgical work in a diverse range of medical fields where I could gain experience and develop my skillset.”

Dr Curtis has also served on several peer and professional organisations including Chair of the Junior Medical Officer Forum, committee member for Queensland Women’s Medical Society and Queensland’s representative to Australian Junior Medical Officer Committee.

She said she remembers her time on the Griffith Medicine program very fondly.

“My Griffith years were brilliant, partly due to the way the third and final years were structured. We focussed on a broad range of specialities in various settings including general practice, intensive care and emergency.

“Having that kind of knowledge and experience behind you is invaluable and really prepares you for your future career.”

The Wide Bay Hospital and Health Service chairman Dominic Devine praised Dr Curtis for being recognised for her commitment to the field of medicine.

“Receiving this award is due recognition of Dr Curtis’ hard work, effort and dedication to health care,” Mr Devine said.

“It is great to see a young doctor who has made such a strong commitment to supporting and training her colleagues be recognised with this award.”